Open Iron Pipe Shelf

My husband and I love to watch the TV show fixer upper after we put the kids to bed. Our own house was a MAJOR fixer upper. The couple we bought it from was selling it just for the land. They thought we would tear it down, but we had a different plan. 

We kind of stole the shelf idea from their show. My style is very similar to Joanna and Chip. I would LOVE to own a farmhouse with lots of land for animals and a garden someday. 

Our kitchen needs a makeover, but we don’t have the money to redo it right now. We were trying to find a way to add more cabinet space to some open wall space in our kitchen just for temporary. When we came across the iron pipe shelves I figured that could be a permanent fix!


We got all the supplies we needed from Lowes. I’ll warn you iron pipes are a little pricey.

First measure your space to see how many shelves you want, and how far apart to make them. We went with 3 shelves. First shelf was 18″ from the cealing, the next two were 10″ apart. Our shelves are 12″ deep.

  • 2 – 18″ X 3/4″ black iron pipe (width from cealing to first shelf)
  • 4 – 10″ X 3/4″ black iron pipe (width between shelves)
  • 6 – 12″ X 3/4″ black iron pipe (width of shelf)
  • 8 – 3/4″ Galvanized floor flange (to support shelves into the wall and cealing)
  • 2 – 90• 3/4″ black iron fittings 
  • 4 – 3/4″ “T” black iron fittings.
  • 3 2×12 lumber board

Seriously you just start screwing pipes together, pretty easy. It was a fun date night project while the kids slept. 


We had a hard time finding the studs in our wall, but I enjoyed working with this stud! See what I did there?! 😜 

You could just screw it into the drywall and use drywall anchors, but that doesn’t sound as sturdy to me.

Once you got it in the right spot put a level up to the pipes and screw them in. This was my favorite part! 

Then you’re ready for the shelves. Seriously it’s that easy!


And fill them up. 🙂


I’m pretty excited about my new storage space. I was a little worried about keeping open shelves organized at first. I need to clean the iron pipes and pull those stickies off sometime. I might eventually refinish the lumber with a tinted polyurethane to make it a little darker.

One thought on “Open Iron Pipe Shelf

Leave a Reply

