Essential Oil Display Storage

I go through spurts where I use essential oils a lot and then don’t. I think my problem is I store them in my bathroom closet, so they are not out in the open. I decided to change that!

Today my poor little Teagan fell and hit her head, hard. I immediately iced the spot and applied Helichrysum and Lavender essential oils. The spot had already formed little red spots, the beginnings of a bruise. I was impressed that after I applied the essential oils to the spot it did not get any worse, by the end of the day it looked like nothing had happened.

img_0866I figured essential oils should be easily accessible so that I can find them when I need them.

I always have a pallet laying in my driveway, ready for my next diy project. If you don’t have any pallets in your driveway, check a lumbar yard, hardware store, landscape supply, or somewhere that might stock large items or bulk items.

img_0811You will need a circular saw and a pry hammer to get the boards you need off the pallet.

img_0816Strike a line on the pallet board at the length desired. Carefully cut to size. I used 4 boards which was 26″ long x 13″wide.

img_0814-1
You will also need 13″ wide pallet shelves. I made 5 shelves. The first was 6″, the next 4 were 4″ apart.

img_0837-1Use a nail puller to either cut or pull out any unwanted nails from the pallet. I left some of the nails in to give it more of a rustic look.

img_0861-1 You will need a trim gun for this next step. We borrowed my brother in law’s gun. Draw a line on the back of the boards so you know where to put the trim nails. If you miss the shelf it won’t look to pretty in the front, so be careful! My husband did this step for me 🙂

img_0865Back of essential oil shelf.img_0875
I wanted to polyurethane the entire shelf, but I ran out of polyurethane. 😭 This gives you an idea of how it looks both ways. It will help the board not splinter as much, I sanded it down a little as well.

All finished and stocked! I love that the essential oils are easily accessible. I hung this shelf in my laundry room, which is also where the changing table is kept and the kids get ready for bed. Makes it easy to oil them up. 😊

I was thinking the bottom shelf has a spot to write “Oil Up” with white paint. That will be a project for another day. I also might add some wire chicken fence to the bottom shelf to turn it into a “cabinet” to store my essential oil guides and cheat sheets. So many plans I have, ha-ha

Special thanks to my big (little) helpers while they ate some cookies, and of course my handy man husband.

img_0845-1

Teagan

img_0842

Paisley

img_0852

Tristan

One thought on “Essential Oil Display Storage

Leave a Reply

